Vanilla Bean Ice Cream with Fresh Strawberry Sauce

Mama's Gotta Bake

It’s already the end of July and the ice cream maker has yet to make an appearance. Sure, when I first got it, it was my best friend.  Every week last summer I’d be churning out a different frozen treat for the family. What’s happened, have I gotten lazy. Is a freezer full of  commercial ice cream laced with propylene glycol and ethyl acetate suddenly acceptable. I think not!

I am a lover of classic comfort food, and to me nothing is more classic than strawberries and cream. One of my favorite ice cream recipes, is the Williams-Sonoma Vanilla Bean.  C’mon people, no chemical additives here, just sugar, eggs and cream.   Pure and simple. I like to top the ice cream with a fresh strawberry sauce and some chopped pistachios, and call it a day.

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

From Williams-Sonoma “Ice Cream”

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups whole…

View original post 396 more words

Leave a Reply

